Oregon Theft Law

This page is to outline the Oregon State Law about theft and in application to locksmiths and consumers.

Believe it or not, there are a few people whom I quote over the phone, come out in person, verify the work and amount, do the work for them, and then they don't fully pay me.

I am here to help you. You generally only call when something bad happens, I understand that you don’t want to be calling me, but you want me to help you.

I would also like to let you know that I do not just sit around waiting for someone to call. I am working on other projects with other clients, so yes, when you call and have me come out, you are taking time away from me helping other people. And at night you are taking away from our time with our family, friends and sleep.

This is all okay, because I offer 7:00 am to 1:00 am service.

So how do I know if I am charged with a felony or misdemeanor theft charge in the State of Oregon?

If you were charged with theft in the third degree (sometimes referred to as "Theft 3") or theft in the second degree ("Theft 2"), you are charged with a misdemeanor crime.

If you were charged with theft in the first degree ("Theft 1") or aggravated theft in the first degree, then you are facing a felony charge.

There are other related charges such as identity theft; forgery; criminal possession of a forged instrument; etc. which are outside the scope of the discussion here.

What is the difference between these different theft charges in Oregon?

The four main Oregon theft charges are summarized in very general terms:

CHARGE CLASSIFICATION HOW COMMITTED

Theft in the third degree

ORS 164.043

 Class C misdemeanor

—stealing property valued at less than $100.

Theft in the second degree

ORS 164.045

 Class A misdemeanor

—stealing property valued at between $100 and $1000.

Theft in the first degree

ORS 164.055

Class C felony

May be committed in a variety of ways including:

 

—stealing property valued at more than $1000; or

—stealing a firearm or explosive (of any value); or

—stealing a companion animal or livestock; or

—buying or selling property known to be stolen (of any value); or

—stealing property during a riot, fire, catastrophe.

Aggravated theft in the first degree

ORS 164.057

Class B felony

—stealing property valued at greater than $10,000.


I would like to note that in the state of Oregon services are considered the same as property.

The full article and credit I would direct to The Oregon Crimes Theft Credit.

For example, if the price to unlock your car is $50 and you agree. After I do the job and you don't pay me for any reason that is Theft III Class C misdemeanor that you can be arrested for.

Officially, I have and will call the police and press charges for refusals to pay for services performed. I am currently collecting 100% as most people don't want to go to jail.

**Disclaimer, I am not providing legal advice, I have no expertise, training or certification and in doing so. If you have serious legal inquires I would suggest contacting a lawyer.

© 2005-2021 Mark's Locksmith. All Rights Reserved.

Top Rated Locksmiths!

Call Now Button My CCB #: 186343 and Locksmith Certificate #: 5063OCLS

16 years as a Locksmith in Oregon.
Powered by Eugene Hosting

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.